

RESOLUTION 2024-03

Macedonian Association "Ilinden" - Tirana

The Delegates of the Member Organisations of the Federal Union of European Nationalities (FUEN) adopted the following resolution at their Assembly of Delegates in Husum/Hüsem, Germany on 21 September 2024:

Resolution on the Committee of National Minorities in Albania

The Committee of National Minorities in the Republic of Albania¹ was founded in 2004 by the Albanian government as a central institution formed by the government with the goal of improving the protection of ethnic minorities in the country. As concluded in numerous reports by international institutions¹ that are involved with the issue of minorities, this institution is liable to political interference and influence by the executive. A more independent body will support the dialogue between the government and the minorities and safeguard the national minorities in a better way.

Therefore, the Committee of National Minorities should become an independent and active voice of the minorities, able to participate in dialogue with the government to protect and improve the rights of the minorities in the Republic of Albania, and its work should be public and visible in the country's media.

FUEN calls upon the government of the Republic of Albania to:

• consider changing the current Committee of National Minorities² from a consultative body into an independent Agency of National Minorities that will have more serious and binding competences to affirm the national minorities in the Republic of Albania.

https://ilinden-tirana.com/wp-content/uploads/2023/10/fifth-opinion-on-republic-of-albania-advisory-committee-on-the-frame-work-convention-for-the-protection-of-nacional-minorities-2023.pdf https://upr-info.org/sites/default/files/documents/2014-04/coe_upr19_alb_e_annexe2_2.pdf https://www.ecmi.de/fileadmin/downloads/publications/JEMIE/2019/Djordjevic.pdf

² VKM nr 127 datë 11.03.2004. Për krijimin e Komitetit Shtetëror të Minoriteteve/ VKM No. 127 of 11.03.2004 For the establishment of the State Committee of Minorities